Election 2019: No surprises


By Patsy Nicosia and Jim Poole

Schoharie County Republicans won all four of yesterday’s contested supervisor races with voter re-electing Leo McAllister in Cobleskill, Richard Lape in Richmondville, and Alan Tavenner in Schoharie and picking first-timer Wes Laraway in Middleburgh.
Middleburgh’s was one of the more interesting races of the 2019 campaign with Mr. Laraway winning the GOP nomination over Supervisor Pete Coppolo, who then ran as councilman--winning that seat. Steve Hendrickson, who ran with Mr. Laraway, also won as councilman.
Mr. Laraway, a Middleburgh Central School teacher, outpolled Democrat Bill Ansel-McCabe, a former village mayor and trustee and town councilman, 732-171.
In Cobleskill, Mr. McAllister defeated Democrat Anne Rogan, 673-454.
In Richmondville, Mr. Lape defeated Vern Hall, 354-137.
And in Schoharie, Alan Tavenner, elected in 2018 to finish out Chris Tague’s term when Mr. Tague won a special election for Assembly, defeated Lea Gardiner, 472-227.

• • •

In the Village of Cobleskill, Becky Stanton-Terk appears to have been elected mayor with 491 votes.
Ms. Stanton-Terk was the only candidate on the ballot—though Julie Cohn launched a last-minute write-in campaign.
Cobleskill elections officials recorded 75 write-in votes, but County Board of Elections has until December to officially count them and determine who they were cast for; no names were available Tuesday.
In the only county race, Republican Indy Jaycox kept her seat as county clerk, out-polling Annette McFarland, 4,245-2,407.
Running unopposed for County Treasurer, the seat long held by Bill Cherry, who’s retiring, Mary Ann Wollaber-Bryan got 5,404 votes.
Due to an apparent breakdown in the voting machine, the Town of Fulton results weren’t in at press time; all results are unofficial.