Slim slate of local races for November 6


Although most attention is focused on Congressional and state races for the election, several Schoharie County towns have offices on the November 6 ballot.
Leading the way is Schoharie, where Chris Tague had to resign as supervisor after he was elected Assemblyman earlier this year.
Councilman Alan Tavenner, a Republican, was named as supervisor to replace Mr. Tague, and he’s facing a challenge from Democrat Virginia Kintz.
Also in Schoharie, Kenneth Knutson is running for justice and Ben Oevering is running for councilman. Both are unopposed.
In other towns, several openings have no candidates and may be decided by write-ins.
Town by town:
Blenheim: incumbent justice Ralph Arrandale is unopposed.
Broome: No candidates for justice.
Carlisle: incumbent councilman Katrina Schweigard is unopposed.
Cobleskill: Democrat Brian LaVine and Republican Bruce Wetsell are running for councilman.
Conesville: incumbent David Merwin Jr. is unopposed.
Summit: Democrat John Meaney and Republican Stephen Gerhardt are running for justice.
Village of Cobleskill: incumbents Howard Burt Jr. and Thomas Johnstone are unopposed for two trustee seats.
Village of Esperance: incumbent Mayor Charles Johnston is unopposed, and there are no candidates for a trustee’s slot.
Village of Sharon Springs: no candidates for a trustee’s position.