Handful of races for school board seats


Schools in the Times-Journal area have firmed up their slates of school board candidates for the May 21 election.
Two seats are on the ballot in Cobleskill-Richmondville. Incumbent Mary Black is seeking re-election, and newcomers Josh McCann and Courtney LaBarge are also running. Incumbent Maggie Pryor is not seeking re-election. The terms are three years.
Four candidates are running for three seats in Schoharie. Incumbents Dan Guasp and Terry Burton are seeking re-election, and Tara Barton and Zachary Doherty are also running, all for three-year terms. Incumbent Marion Jaqueway is not seeking re-election.
In Middleburgh, incumbents Vicki Hoerz and Debra Bechtold are seeking re-election to three-year terms.
Helen Roberts is running unopoosed for her own five-year seat in Sharon Springs. Sofia Issa and Cori Bissonette are running for the year remaining on Ms. Issa’s seat after she was named to fill a vacancy on the board.
At Gilboa-Conesville, incumbent Gregory Woodcock is running unopposed for a three-year term.
In Jefferson, newcomers Marc Lawrence, Elizabeth Fallo and Carol Parker are running for one five-year seat.
Stacey Serdy, an incumbent, is seeking re-election and is unopposed in Worcester.